//
you're reading...
Plans

Only Beginnings

There are a million billion travel blogs out there, and even I think I’m crazy trying to board the same boat that hundreds of others already crowd–yet here I am, stalwartly clutching the mast, trying to unfurl my own sails. One sentence in, and I already know I’m not great with boat analogies. So, before I decide against this, here I go plunging into something I’ll try my darnedest not to abandon. (I seriously should stop the maritime comparisons though).

I can only feel excitement, even when I know it won’t last long. Sure, a simmer of anticipation will remain so long as I continue to work toward my goals, but my current fervent pace of planning can only be short lived, and boy am I going to ride it’s coattails for as long as I can.

This is what I feel every day.

See, my goals right now are still in the ‘fantasy’ stage but I’m as committed to them as if I was ready to hop on the plane tomorrow. Not a lot of people know the plans yet, as I know I’ll probably be met with a lot of the same reactions: “Why?” “You know there will be bugs. Big ones.” “Malaria!” And to all of that, I will let out a firm, resounding “Meh!” After all, I’m a young, independent woman that is ready to experience the world, change some long held views, and prove that I am all that and a bag of chips. You know, generally kicking some ass and taking some names.

Nothing shall deter me!

So I’ve decided to create this space to write about the process of getting prepared for a year long (or perhaps longer) Round the World trip within the shortest time possible while living in Indiana and holding a minimum wage job. Well you know, when I say it like that, it does sound kind of crazy but STAY TUNED! I’m not sinking this ship yet!

Seriously. Stop talking about ships like you know anything about them.

About herptraveler

With a passion for travel and for herpetology, I plan on embarking on a year-long Eurasian adventure early 2012, exploring many countries and getting to know their reptilian wildlife.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Opinionate yo'self!

Herp Stats

  • 451 hits

Follow me on my travels!

Join 8 other followers

Herp Archive

August 2011
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
