//
you're reading...
Plans, Preparation

And I’m Back, with Two Major Changes

Okay, so it’s become apparent that I’m no good at this, at least not yet. I am notoriously bad at keeping up blogs, posts, twits, and anything that is even remotely tied to a daily diary. That said, I’m doing much better with this than I normally would be. The fact that I made six successful posts, one after another, within the span of a week without losing steam is amazing. In context, I’ve never been able to keep a diary for more than two days. However I still get distracted by the littlest things while writing; like watching Maggie drink water, or getting sucked into a rerun of The Office. Despite my shortcomings, I’m determined to keep up with this blog, and with that I’ll segue bumpily into some of the changes that have already happened to my plans.

#1 April, Not February

To be fair, I already knew my initial hope of leaving sometime in February was farfetched, but I can’t say I’m not disappointed. My plans also were never strictly going to be within 6 months, but it was more or less within that time frame, and I fully expected it to be a stretched a bit. Due to some changes to my previous assumptions, (see Precipitous Planning) I feel like I have a more accurate time of departure, though I still need to crunch the numbers to verify it. Needless to say, February was a pipe-dream, and I’ve moved the date to mid-April at the latest. Part of the reason for April is because the months after that will see an increase in the price of plane tickets, and that’s something I’d like to try to avoid as best as possible without having to wait until that small window in August.

Another reason for the delay is for the fact that our previous plans to move to a slightly bigger city changed; we’ll still be moving, but to a city more or less the same size as ours and with just as little (or fewer) opportunities for employment. It is, however, situated smack-dab between here and the big city, but I won’t have the opportunity to seek employment at Petsmart as I had hoped (*sniff* I miss working with dogs!). But fear not! I’ve decided to look for a second job in-town even before we move sometime in October, which means I’ll hopefully be able to finally start saving up before I thought I’d be able to. Unfortunately, It will mostly likely be yet another fast food job.

#2 Cambodia

Yes, Cambodia was already on my itinerary, and yes, I’m still going there so long as I don’t take a detour to Australia (Mmmm deadly reptiles!). The change here is how long I’ll be there and what I’ll be doing there. I was a bit reluctant to stay very long there on account of the fact that the only places truly cleared of land mines are the touristy places and other big cities, and because of that my travel would be a bit restricted, which I don’t like. However, I’ve heard good things of Cambodia, which is why I put it on my itinerary to begin with, and I’m looking forward to seeing the impact of the strife that the country has gone through on the local wildlife (again, staying away from questionable places with clear land mine signs).

Something I noticed while researching the country on a whim was how incredibly easy it was to get a work visa there, and the fact that it can be renewed indefinitely. This caught my eye mostly because by the time I reach Cambodia, I’ll have been traveling for a while, and my funds will most likely be considerably low. Pair those two facts together and it looks like I’ll be spending some time in Cambodia, padding my pockets for the final leg of my journey. Now, I’m not the best teacher unless it has something to do with snakes, (then you can’t get me to shut my trap. Go ahead, I dare you to test that out.) which means I don’t look forward to teaching English as a second language as so many expats do. While I’ll still be depending on the few random odd jobs to pay my way, (legal, for once, since I’d have a work visa) I’ve decided I’d like to see if I can learn enough Khmer ahead of time to be a translator. It seems I have my work cut out for me, seeing as their written language is a bit like Old English; that being, there are no set rules for spelling seeing as the written structure hasn’t really been fleshed out yet. Aside from trouble reading and writing Khmer, from what I’ve seen I shouldn’t have too much trouble learning the language. I’ve already learned how to ask for help!

About herptraveler

With a passion for travel and for herpetology, I plan on embarking on a year-long Eurasian adventure early 2012, exploring many countries and getting to know their reptilian wildlife.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “And I’m Back, with Two Major Changes

  1. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Very helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info much. I was looking for this particular information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

    Posted by Harold Ambroziak | August 28, 2011, 9:29 am
  2. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. That is a very smartly written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your useful information. Thank you for the post. I’ll definitely return.

    Posted by Mathilda Aguire | August 27, 2011, 7:54 am

Opinionate yo'self!

Herp Stats

  • 452 hits

Follow me on my travels!

Join 7 other followers

Herp Archive

August 2011
M T W T F S S
    Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
