//
you're reading...
Plans

Options and Opportunities: Now

So I’ve covered the Why behind my travels, but I have yet to uncover the How. I’ve alluded to saving up and taking jobs here and there, maybe taking a job in Cambodia if I could learn the language a little better (Khmer is a tad harder to find online than, say, French), and I’ll be needing to find a new second job again pretty damn soon, but all of that can only get me so far, and I can only leave so much to pure chance. So I’ve been researching a lot lately, browsing for different options I can take while traveling.

School. I miss it. The school I want to go to is all the way back in California, and I’m obviously not returning any time soon, but it doesn’t change the fact that my best art, my best writing, my best concentrated efforts are done under instruction–usually my best is done when trying to escape boring lectures; I swear my brain just takes off. Something that goes hand in hand with college is money. Either the money you spend to stay there, or the money you get from scholarships, grants, and loans, it’s a key part in any plan.

What I would love more than anything is to have the opportunity to study abroad without worrying about paying, and there are certainly countless financial aid options to get students out of the country to study. The problem with that is they usually ask that you are already in school in order for those options to open up. Now, I went to a community college in California for four semesters (only prerequisites to get me into the EATM program, so no degree for me), but it’s been quite a while so I doubt I’m still considered a student. The only way to change that is to take a class or two before I leave and see if I have any luck with said scholarships, grants, and loans to help me finance my way across the globe (or at least to school on the other side of it).

I’m sure I’ll get some flack sooner or later for trying to take advantage of the government’s generosity, but I don’t see any moral problem for using student funds for studying outside of a classroom. Aside from that, I’ve never won anything in my life, and I am a bit skeptical at my luck with grants and scholarships, so I’ll most likely have to fall back on student loans to help me out. Either way, my first plan of attack is to take some spring classes, try my hand at getting a scholarship to study abroad, and at the very least get a loan to get me off my ass and out into the world, because let’s face it, even two minimum wage jobs aren’t going to get me very far if I only have six months to save up (and yes, I’m sticking to that timeline).

Now, I would have included my next set of battle plans in this post, but it really deserves a post all it’s own–so on that note, read Options and Opportunities: Then.

About herptraveler

With a passion for travel and for herpetology, I plan on embarking on a year-long Eurasian adventure early 2012, exploring many countries and getting to know their reptilian wildlife.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Opinionate yo'self!

Herp Stats

  • 452 hits

Follow me on my travels!

Join 7 other followers

Herp Archive

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
