//
you're reading...
Plans

Options and Opportunities: Then

So what am I going to do when I’m traveling to make money? I would love to say I can handle it all as I go, that this blog will make enough to at least get me food (hah!), and I need not worry, but–OH WAIT! This is reality. So, of course, as I’m wont to do whenever I have enough time to plan a project, I research. Numerous travel blogs have shown me the best options for money on the go, anything from teaching English to busking on the streets, and I’ve narrowed down the best picks to tailor fit my style.

Online

An abundance of sources exist that provides people with opportunities to make money online in numerous ways. A partnership with YouTube, ads inserted into websites, paid reviews, and most likely more I have yet to find out about. One of the opportunities I would like to try out is publishing to online magazines. An American Girl in Transit offers up a number of golden choices that specifically look for new writers in the travel community in her post; 10 Budget Friendly Publications For the Novice Travel Writer. This may be vanity talking, but I fancy myself an okay writer–certainly no Hemmingway, but I think I’m potentially publishable at the very least. My goal is to be published in Reptiles Magazine (and I think I have a chance, if I can successfully operate a camera), but I think I’ll aim a little lower first to get the hang of writing articles. What would make my career is if I could submit some of my findings to the Society for the Study of Amphibians and Reptiles, but let’s not get carried away here.

Aside from the articles I’ll be desperately promoting to anyone who will publish them, I’ll pursue the usual choices that come with travel blogs: AdSense and paid reviews. I’ll of course do my best to review products I would normally use, and maintain my credibility by refusing reviews that control what I write, but I’ll let my readers know at the end of each review that I was paid to write it.

English

Teaching or tutoring English is an opportunity I’m still looking into, as it depends on if I can get student financial aid to help me get the TEFL certificate I need. I most likely will stick to mere tutoring, though if the odd teaching job comes along at a desperate time, I’ll of course take it. We’ll see how this option works out for me.

Crafts

I find myself to be a bit artistic at times, though sometimes I struggle with my creativity. I’ll draw, paint, write, sew, cross stitch, and learn different crafts. I’m currently in the process of making a skull and crossbones cross stitch wallet to sell, and so long as the materials are there, I could do the same on the road. Granted, I’m horrible at making deadlines, and if not given enough push I’ll neglect a project completely (which happens all too often), but if it comes down to begging on the streets because I don’t have enough money to make it out of a country, I think that will become a big enough driving force to get me to crank out a few projects to sell either online or on said streets. I’m not 100% confident about this choice because I haven’t proved reliably inspired in the past (not to mention crafts and lightweight backpacking don’t really go together), but it’s skill set that will no doubt be valuable at some point on the road.

Miscellaneous

Then there are the jobs that either aren’t legal without a work permit, or don’t necessarily pay me in cash. Working for food, WWOOF, temporary cleaning jobs, anything that will get me from one place to the next. I’ll try everything I can before choosing illegality, but it’s something I’ll have to keep open as a possibility.

See Options and Opportunities: Now to find out what I can do before I travel.

About herptraveler

With a passion for travel and for herpetology, I plan on embarking on a year-long Eurasian adventure early 2012, exploring many countries and getting to know their reptilian wildlife.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Options and Opportunities: Then

  1. Thanks for citing my post on pitching to travel mags! Let me know if you get any stories published!
    Leora

    Posted by anamericangirlintransit1 | November 18, 2011, 5:21 pm

Opinionate yo'self!

Herp Stats

  • 451 hits

Follow me on my travels!

Join 8 other followers

Herp Archive

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  
